Autophagy and cancer

This is a new cellular mechanism I did not know about: autophagy. Nature’s issue of April 12th (I am bit behind I know) has an interesting article in the section Q&A on autophagy and its role in cancer.

Autophagy is the process by which cells degrade faulty or redundant components. It is used by cells when they need to reuse molecules for other uses and also it plays an important role in complementing apoptosis. Both apoptosis and autophagy are connected to cell death but in the case of autophagy cell death is not always the outcome although it can be a substitute when the apoptotic mechanism is crippled. In that case the cell literally eats itself to death.

The image bellow comes from the article. Autophagy has the potential of being useful for cancer supression but also for cancer promotion. The balance is important, too little and you get cell death when the cell cannot produce things it needs by reusing parts of itself. Too much of it and you also get cell death since the cell can eat itself. Altering this balance in a tumour cell could be the source of a new therapy although as usual it is important to remember that cells might evolve mechanisms to avoid the trouble of autophagy, maybe by inactivating the atophagy mechanism all together. Even in that case the tumour cell would be less capable of surviving in situations of stress since it would not be able to recycle material.

Autophagy seems to be a mechanism whose precise role in cancer has not been fully studied yet but could be a promising extra target for a multi target therapy that could hinder cancer evolution and growth.

88 thoughts on “Autophagy and cancer

  1. Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this article
    together. I once again find myself personally spending
    way too much time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

    Feel free to surf to my homepage … options trading strategies

  2. I know this if off topic but I'm looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get setup? I'm assuming having a blog like
    yours would cost a pretty penny? I'm not very web savvy so I'm not 100% certain. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks

    Here is my webpage … best stocks

  3. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I'm using the same blog platform as yours and I'm having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

    Look into my website ::

  4. Hey! Quick question that's completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I'm trying to find a template or plugin that might
    be able to correct this issue. If you have any recommendations,
    please share. Thanks!

    My page: Forex Trading Accounts

  5. Wonderful article! This is the kind of information that are supposed to
    be shared across the web. Disgrace on Google for not positioning this put up upper!

    Come on over and discuss with my website . Thanks =)

    Feel free to visit my site :: cedar finace

  6. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of
    house . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this
    web site. Studying this info So i am happy to convey that
    I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I
    found out exactly what I needed. I such a lot unquestionably will
    make certain to don?t omit this website and provides it a glance regularly.

    Feel free to visit my website … clickbank

  7. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my
    users would definitely benefit from some of the information you provide
    here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks!

    Have a look at my web page :: Cedar Finance Trading

  8. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It's always interesting to read through content from other writers and use a little something from other websites.

    Here is my page; Legitimate Ways To Make Money Online

  9. Yοur own рost haѕ vегified useful
    to us. It’s quite іnformativе and you reаlly
    arе natuгally extremely ωell-informed
    of this tyρe. You poѕsеѕs poppeԁ mу
    own eуes to be able tο vaгying thoughts about
    this specіfіc subjеct mattеr togethеr with intгiquіng,
    notable and solid агticlеs.
    Have a look at my weblogbuy clonazepam

  10. I will right away clutch your rss as I can't to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me recognize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

    Visit my webpage cedar finance trading

  11. My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using WordPress
    on numerous websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform.
    I have heard very good things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

    my page … Fail Compilation 2012

  12. Your style is so unique compared to other folks I have read stuff
    from. Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I'll just bookmark this web site.

    Feel free to surf to my homepage psn card

  13. Great site you have here.. It's difficult to find quality writing like yours these days. I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

    Here is my webpage; Minecraft Premium

Leave a Reply

