A 3D model of human breast cancer

This has been covered in a few places like the BBC and ScienceDaily. It seems that some researchers at Queen Mary College in London have recently come with a non animal 3D human breast cancer model.

This is interesting at more than one level. Their research was funded by a research charity (Dr Hadwen Trust) that supports the development of methods that avoid animal experiments. Working with rats is not that satisfactory for ethical reasons and also because there are many cases in which the results of rat experiments cannot be extrapolated to humans (seems we are not so similar in some respects after all). It is also much more realistic than just taking some human cancer cells and studying them on a petri dish.

Being capable of performing experiments using realistic 3D models quickly and efficiently is one of the holy grails of theoreticians since it would make experimental validation of our models much easier (confusingly enough what theoreticians call model, eg, equations or computer rules, is not what experimentalists understand as a model, eg. rat, arabidopsis or drosophila). This validation is quite complicated as I have already mentioned in another post. Making this validation easier and more convenient will go a long way in terms of making our work more reliable and quantitative.

115 thoughts on “A 3D model of human breast cancer

  1. This design is steller! You most certainly know how to keep
    a reader entertained. Between your wit and
    your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really loved what you had to
    say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

    My web blog – Cedarfinace.Com

  2. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your website in internet explorer, might
    test this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and a large
    section of other folks will miss your great writing because of this problem.

    Stop by my webpage: Cedar Binary Trading Options

  3. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article
    plus the rest of the website is also very good.

    My web site online jobs

  4. I do believe all the ideas you've presented on your post. They are very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very short for starters. Could you please prolong them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

    my site coffee drinkers

  5. I think that everything published made a bunch of
    sense. But, consider this, what if you wrote a catchier
    post title? I ain't suggesting your information isn't good.
    , but suppose you added something to maybe get a person's attention? I mean “A 3D model of human breast cancer” is kinda boring. You ought to glance at Yahoo's
    front page and note how they create news titles to get viewers to open the links.
    You might add a video or a picture or two to grab people interested about
    everything've got to say. Just my opinion, it would bring your blog a little bit more interesting.

    Also visit my blog post :: free money finance

  6. I've been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It's pretty worth enough for me.
    In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content
    as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Here is my web blog:

Leave a Reply

