A Theorist’s Apology

More than an apology a defense of theory and “theorists”.
After a long hiatus, Artem comes back with a post where he refocuses his scientific interests. A theorist, a gadfly that questions our assumptions and makes us aware of our blind spots. Now, gadflies might not be pleasant but, in science, they are a necessary good.

Theory, Evolution, and Games Group

Gadfly of ScienceAlmost four months have snuck by in silence, a drastic change from the weekly updates earlier in the year. However, dear reader, I have not abandoned TheEGG; I have just fallen off the metaphorical horse and it has taken some time to get back on my feet. While I was in the mud, I thought about what it is that I do and how to label it. I decided the best label is “theorist”, not a critical theorist, nor theoretical cognitive scientist, nor theoretical biologist, not even a theoretical computer scientist. Just a theorist. No domain necessary.

The problem with a non-standard label is that it requires justification, hence this post. I want to use the next two thousand words to return to writing and help unify my vision for TheEGG. In the process, I will comment on the relevance of philosophy to science, and the theorist’s integration of…

View original post 2,257 more words

Leave a Reply

